Srilanka Squad Announced For Asia cup and ICC T20 world cup 2016 – Malinga, Mathews, Kulasekara Back


Sri Lanka Cricket Board Finally revealed the Confirm 15 Member Squad for the upcoming Asia cup 2016 as well as ICC World Twenty20 2016 tournament. Twenty20 Captain Lasith Malinga, Vice Captain Angelo Mathews and Experience Pace bowler Nuwan Kulasekara are back from the Sri lanka side. Sri lanka named Lasith Malinga as a captain for the Asia cup and ICC T20 world cup while Vice captain for both major events are Angelo Mathews.

Captain Malinga and Vice Captain Mathews are not with the Sri lanka team quite a fews times and they loss recently series against India by 2-1 and also ODI series against New zealand. So comeback of this experience two players surely boost the confidence of sri lanka players for this Asia cup and ICC world cup twenty20 tournament as Sri lanka is the defending champions so they try to grab this upcoming tournament too.

Captain Malinga and Vice captain Mathews comeback to sri lanka side for Asia cup and T20 world cup 2016
Captain Malinga and Vice captain Mathews comeback to sri lanka side for Asia cup and T20 world cup 2016

Watch India vs Sri Lanka Contest Live on Doordarshan

In the Sri lanka T20 squad spin-bowling attack of Herath, Sachithra Senanayake and Vandersay while Milinda Siriwardana’s left-arm spin and Jayasuriya’s off spin is also available. So In spin too much option for captain Malinga while in the Pace attack is spearheaded by himself with experience Kulasekara who is just comeback to national side after the injury with Dushmantha Chameera and Thisara Perera also available.

Also see : India vs Sri Lanka Asia cup 2016 Match Live streaming

Sri Lanka’s 15-man Squad for Asia cup and ICC T20 world cup 2016

Lasith Malinga (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay

In: Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Shehan Jayasuriya, Rangana Herath

Out: Dilhara Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka, Seekuge Prasanna, Asela Gunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Binura Fernando,

In Asia cup 2016 Team sri lanka journey started on 25th February to qualifier team at Mirpur and then after on 28th February against Bangladesh, 1st March against India and 4th March against Pakistan Respectively.

Team Sri Lanka who is included in the Group 1 of Super-10 stage and as per Fixtures in this upcoming six T20 world cup they have to played their first match against one of the qualifier team on 17th March at Eden Garden Kolkata. In group stage they have to face West Indies, England and South africa.