India Hockey Team announced Squad for Sultan Azlan Shah 26th Edition

India to included Four Juniors in Malaysia Azlan Shah Cup Hockey Tournament 2017


Hockey India Yesterday on Tuesday 11th April named the Men’s Hockey Team for the upcoming 26th Edition of the Sultan Azlan shah cup which will be starts from the 29th April in Iphoh, Malaysia.

In this Hockey India Squad Chielf Coach Roelant Oltmans has been added the Four young Blood of Junior players as India are building a best team for the 2018 Hockey World cup and 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Defender Gurinder Singh, Midfielders Sumit and Manpreet Along with 21 Year old Goalkeeper of Mumbai Suraj Karkera are named in the squad for the Malaysia Sultan Azlan Shah cup 2017.

PR Sreejesh leading the India Hockey team in Azlan shah cup 2017
PR Sreejesh leading the India Hockey team in Azlan shah cup 2017

“The idea was to try out new combinations ahead of the three important tournaments this year, which are the World League Semi Final, Asia Cup and the Odisha Men’s Hockey League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. We have a few tournaments before these big events like we play Belgium and Germany before we play the World League Semi Final and we play Belgium and Holland in August. These are good opponents against whom we can test ourselves to access whether the players are achieving what we expect out of them,” explained Oltmans.

Team have also included some of the experience players like Sardar Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Harjeet Singh, Sumit and Manpreet as a midfielder along with junior Manpreet Singh while in defence team added Rupinder Pal Singh, Pardeep Mor, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh and Gurinder Singh in the squad. In Forward line team have named S.V Sunil, Talwinder Singh, Affan Yousuf, Akashdeep Singh and Mandeep Singh for the Azlan shah cup.

“We will bring a team to Malaysia which is a mixture of experienced and young players some of whom have played in the senior squad earlier. It is a challenge for us to see where we stand with the new team combination compared to other teams like Australia, Great Britain and New Zealand. They also will bring new players. I don’t expect Malaysia and Japan to have too many changes in their teams and I think they play the same players as they did at the Asian Champions Trophy last October,” said Oltmans.

PR Sreejesh will be leading the India Hockey team in this Azlan Shah cup. Hockey India Team will be starting the Sultan Azlan shah cup campaign by playing the first match against Great Britain on 29th April.

Azlan Shah cup Squad of India Hockey Team:


1. P.R. Sreejesh (C)
2. Suraj Karkera


3. Pardeep Mor
4. Surender Kumar
5. Rupinderpal Singh
6. Harmanpreet Singh
7. Gurinder Singh


8. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam
9. Sumit
10. Sardar Singh
11. Manpreet Singh (VC)
12. Harjeet Singh
13. Manpreet


14. SV Sunil
15. Talwinder Singh
16. Mandeep Singh
17. Affan Yousuf
18. Akashdeep Singh

Recent search terms: