Australia Womens Squad Announce for T20 world cup 2016


From the 15th March to 3rd April Womens World Twenty20 cup is been starts in India. For that Cricket Australia announced the final 15 Member of Womens squad for t20 world cup. Meg Lanning has been named as a captain for the Australian Womens team While 17 Year old Lauren Chetle and 22 year old beth monney added in the World T20 squad.

Chairman of selectors Shawn Flegler said, “It’s an exciting time for the entire squad, but in particular Beth Mooney and Lauren Cheatle. Beth showed positive signs at the top of the order while Lauren impressed with the ball. This will be another great opportunity for these young players.”

Meg Lanning leading the Australia womens squad in t20 world cup
Meg Lanning leading the Australia womens squad in t20 world cup

Before starting up the womens World T20 cup they have to played in this month against new zealand. under the Captaincy of Meg Lanning teams looking very good with bowling and batting.

Flegler added “We’ve got a number of options covered with our bowling attack as well as several batters who can produce the attacking game-style we want to play. The players have had a solid build up to the tournament with strong competition against India in our recent home series, as well as the first season of the women’s BBL,”

Australia Women WT20 Squad

  1. Meg Lanning (Captain)
  2. Alex Blackwell
  3. Kristen Beams
  4. Sarah Coyte
  5. Holly Ferling
  6. Grace Harris
  7. Jess Jonassen
  8. Lauren Cheatle
  9. Beth Mooney
  10. Alyssa Healy
  11. Rene Farrell
  12. Erin Osborne
  13. Megan Schutt
  14. Ellyse Perry
  15. Elyse Villani

As per fixtures Australia womens team are included in the Group A in the T20 Womens world cup thus they have to played in the group stage against Sri Lanka, New zealand, Ireland and South africa. They have started the Womens T20 world cup campaign by playing against South africa at Nagpur on 18th March.