List of ICC Cricket World cup Winners, Runners up (1975-2019)

A Gala Events of Cricket competition of ICC World cup who organizes by the ICC – International Cricket council in Span of 4 Years since 1975 to till date. Here on this article we will be share the complete information about ICC Cricket world cup Winners, Runners up Team for All the Edition of 1975-2019 till date.

First Edition of the ICC Cricket world cup was organized in England and that occasion final who will be played between Australia and West Indies team at Lord’s London. West indies beat the Australia and win the First cricket world cup.

Most Recent Edition of ICC World cup was played in 2015 where Australia Beat New Zealand and Win the Fifth Trophy of the World cup Competition. Upcoming CWC tournament was schedule to played from the 30th May 2019 in England & Wales.


Check out below the List of Winners and Runners up of ICC Cricket world cup year by year.

List of ICC World Cup Winners & CWC Runners-Up

Year Winner Runner Up Result Final Venue
1975 West Indies Australia West Indies won by 17 Runs Lord’s London
1979 West Indies England West Indies won by 92 runs Lord’s London
1983 India West Indies India won by 43 runs Lord’s London
1987 Australia England Australia won by 7 runs Eden Gardens, Kolkata, India
1992 Pakistan England Pakistan won by 22 runs MCG, Melbourne, Australia
1996 Sri Lanka Australia Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan
1999 Australia Pakistan Australia won by 8 wickets Lord’s London
2003 Australia India Australia won by 125 runs Wanderers, South Africa
2007 Australia Sri Lanka Australia won by 53 runs Kensington Oval, Bridgetown
2011 India Sri Lanka India won by 6 wickets Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India
2015 Australia New Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets MCG, Melbourne, Australia
2019 TBC TBC TBC Lord’s, London, England

Also see : CWC 2019 TV Broadcaster

CWC winners Countrywise

IF we look at the All Edition of Cricket world cup champions then Australia cricket team is the most successful team in the ICC world cup tournament as they became the Champions five times in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and most recently in 2015. Apart of them India and West Indies won the 2-2 trophy each while West indies won the First two cricket world cup in 1975 and 1979. Pakistan is the Winners of 1992 Cricket world cup and Sri Lanka won the 1996 ICC World cup trophy.

ICC World Cup Winners according countries with no. of titles

COUNTRY Number of Titles Year
Australia 5 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
India 2 1983, 2011
West Indies 2 1975, 1979
Sri Lanka 1 1996
Pakistan 1 1992

Winners in Brief (Year by Year)

1975 Cricket World cup

In the 1975 ICC World cup Final West Indies beat Australia and became the Champions of the Inaugural Edition of the Cricket world cup Tournament. WI won by 17 runs in the Final game at Lord’s London. Clive Lloyd was named man of the match in final Game of 1975 world cup.

1979 Cricket World Cup

In the Second World cup West Indies beat the England and won the Trophy of 1979 ICC World cup Final. WI beat England by 92 run in the Final game at Lords ground and on that match Sir viv Rchards was pick as a Man of the Match for that final game.

1983 Cricket World Cup

1983 ICC world cup is special one for the Indian as they Beat the West indies in the 1983 ICC cricket world cup Final and became the champions First occasion in the tournament. India beat West indies by 43 runs in the Final at Lords and Mohinder Amarnath was awarded as man of the match for 1983 world cup final.

Also see : Cricket world cup Live Streaming 2019

1987 Cricket World Cup

In the 1987 ICC world cup Final Australia beat England and grab the First world cup Title. Australia won that game by only 7 runs in the final which will be hosted at India’s Eden Gradens Venue. David Boon was declared man of the match in final.

1992 Cricket World Cup

By Beating the England in the 1992 ICC world cup Final, Pakistan made a history to won the World champions of the competition. PAK beat Eng with 92 runs in the final at Melbourne cricket ground and wasim akram declared as Man of the match for that Final game of 1992 world cup.

1996 Cricket world cup

Sri Lanka Who beat the Australia in the final match of the ICC world cup 1996 and win their first title of the competition. SL won that Final Match by beating the Australia by 7 wickets at Gaddafi stadium at Lahore. Aravinda de Silva was declared man of the match in final. Sanath Jayasuriya Was pick as man of the series for that tournament.

1999 Cricket World Cup

Australian won their second World cup Trophy to win ICC world cup final. AUS beat 8 wickets in the final match which was played at Lord’s london. Shane warne was announced as Man of the Match in the final game. Lance Klusener was man of the series for that game.

2003 Cricket World Cup

In the 2003 ICC world cup tournament Australia beat the India in the final game and became the Third time champions of the cricket world cup. Australia won by 125 runs on that match which played at Wanderes stadium of Johannesburg. Ricky Ponting was awarded man of the match for the final game whereas Sachin Tendulkar awarded with man of the series trophy for the 2003 world cup.

2007 Cricket world cup

Australia who made a word records by beating the Sri lanka in the 2007 World cup final as they clinch the Cricket world cup title third in a row. Australia won that game by 53 runs as per D/L Method. Adam Gilchrist was announced man of the match and Glenn McGrath was awarded to Man of the series.

2011 Cricket World Cup

After a 1983 Title, India beat Sri Lanka in 2011 World cup final so this is the second Trophy for the India in the ICC cricket world cup. India who won that match by 6 wickets in the final game. MS dhoni was awarded as man of the match while Yuvraj Singh was announced man of the series for the 2011 cricket world cup final game.

2015 Cricket world cup

Australia who beat the New Zealand in the Final match of the 2015 ICC world cup by and won the fifth trophy of the cricket world cup competition. This 2015 World cup final match was played at Melbourne Cricket ground on 29 March. Australia won that game by 7 wickets. James Faulkner was pick as the man of the match while Mitchell starc was player of the series for the competition.

2019 Cricket world cup

Upcoming 12th Edition of the ICC cricket world cup competition which will be schedule to begin from the 30 May 2019 in England. Australia are the defending champions of the competition.

For the record, does not condone copyright violation with the help of a VPN as we promotes online privacy and security afforded by Virtual Private Networks.

Recent search terms: